Jack Batty was elected the Member for Bragg in the Parliament of South Australia at the July 2022 by-election.

He currently serves as the Shadow Assistant Minister to the Leader of the Opposition and the Shadow Assistant Minister for Environment and Heritage.

In these roles, Jack has delivered a number of wins for our local community including improved road safety infrastructure and better protection for our Adelaide Park Lands.

Prior to entering State Parliament, Jack worked in international diplomacy as an adviser to the Hon George Brandis QC during his term as High Commissioner to the United Kingdom. Through this role Jack was a delegate to the 2021 Climate Conference in Glasgow, worked on Australia’s free trade deal with the United Kingdom and aided efforts to get over four million Pfizer vaccines to Australia during the pandemic.

Before working in the UK, Jack worked as an adviser to the Minister for Defence, an associate to His Honour Justice Besanko of the Federal Court of Australia and as a solicitor at Cowell Clarke Commercial Lawyers in Adelaide.

Jack completed his Bachelor of Laws (First Class Honours), Bachelor of Economics and Graduate Diploma of Legal Practice at the University of Adelaide.

Together with his wife Charlotte, Jack lives locally and has deep ties to the Bragg community. When Jack is not actively serving the community, you can often find him climbing the Mount Lofty summit, grabbing a coffee at one of Bragg’s many excellent cafes or walking his dog Trooper with Charlotte.

Watch Jack's Maiden Speech

The electorate of Bragg

The South Australian electorate of Bragg was named after Sir William Bragg (1862-1942), Professor of Mathematics and Physics at Adelaide University and his son Sir Lawrence Bragg (1890-1971), director of the Cavendish Laboratory, who were jointly awarded the Nobel Prize in 1915 for developing the science of X-ray crystallography.

Previous members for Bragg are former Premier, The Hon. David Tonkin (1970-1983), former Deputy Premier, The Hon. Graham Ingerson (1983-2002) and former Deputy Premier, The Hon. Vickie Chapman (2002-2022).

Situated in Adelaide’s east, Bragg incorporates the suburbs of Beaumont, Burnside, Cleland, Dulwich, Eastwood, Erindale, Frewville, Glen Osmond, Glenside, Glenunga, Greenhill, Hazelwood Park, Heathpool, Horsnell Gully, Leabrook, Leawood Gardens, Linden Park, Marryatville, Mount Osmond, Rose Park, Rosslyn Park, Skye, St Georges, Stonyfell, Toorak Gardens, Tusmore, Waterfall Gully and Wattle Park.

With the iconic Burnside Village shopping centre, beautiful Mount Lofty summit, heritage suburbs, delicious cafes and restaurants, and state-leading schools, Bragg is a diverse electorate with a renowned quality of life.

Newsletter signup

Stay up to date with what I am doing locally and in Parliament.

Sign up